How to Clear Your Google History

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to clear your Google search history on desktop and mobile devices.

Checkout this video:

Open your Google account

To clear your Google search history, follow these steps:

1. Open your Google account.
2. On the left navigation panel, click Data & personalization.
3. Under “Activity controls,” click Web & App Activity or YouTube History Manage Activity. If you don’t see either of these options, click Go to your activity controls.
4. To the right of “Web & App Activity” or “YouTube History,” click More Delete activity by.
5. Below “Delete by date,” choose All time.
6. To the right of All time, click Delete .
7 That’s it! Your Google search history is now cleared.

On the top right corner of the page, click on your profile picture

On the top right corner of the page, click on your profile picture →Click on “My account” →Under “Account Preferences,” click on “Delete your account or services” →Click on “Delete products” →Click on “Browser history: Chrome” under “Choose product”→Click on three dots on the top right of the page and select “Remove items by date” under “History type”→Click on “ALL TIME” under “Time range”→Finally, click on DELETE HISTORY
Your entire Google history will now be deleted.

On the menu that appears, select “Account.”

On the “Account” page, select “Data & personalization.” On the next page, in the “Activity controls” panel, select “Web & App Activity.” (You may need to scroll down to see this.) On the Web & App Activity page that appears, in the top panel, select “Manage activity.”

From there, you can choose to delete everything from your Google account activity history, or just certain types of activity.

On the left side of the screen, select “Data & personalization.”

At the top of the page, select the “Clear browsing data” button. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time. Check the boxes for the info you want to remove.
-Browsing history
-Download history
-Cookies and other site data
-Cached images and files
-Passwords
-Autofill form data
-Hosted app data
Click “Clear data.”

Under “Activity controls,” select “Web & App Activity.”

To the right of “Web & App Activity,” select More Delete activity by. Below “Delete by date,” select the Down arrow and choose All time. At the top right, select Delete Delete.

On the page that appears, to the right of “Web & App Activity is turned on,” click the switch.

At the top right of your browser, click More Settings.
At the top, under “My Activity,” click History.
Above “Show Web & App Activity,” click the switch.

A message will appear that says, “Paused. Your activity isn’t being saved to your account.”

If you aren’t signed in to a Google Account, we don’t track the information that you search for. However, signing in to your Google Account will turn on Web & App Activity for that account.

When you turn on History for your account, the stuff you do—the searches you do, the websites you visit—is saved to your account. That way, if something goes wrong with your device or your settings are accidentally erased, you can get everything back by re-adding your account to Chrome.

Scroll to Top