How to Clear Your Google Maps History

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to clear your Google Maps history on both the desktop and mobile versions of the app.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

If you’re like most people, you probably use Google Maps on a regular basis to get around. Google Maps is a great tool that can make your life a lot easier, but it can also be a bit of a pain if you don’t manage your history properly.

Over time, your Google Maps history can start to pile up, making it harder and harder to find the places you’re looking for. If you’re not careful, it can even start to use up a lot of storage space on your device.

Fortunately, there’s an easy way to clear your Google Maps history. In this article, we’ll show you how to do it on both the web and the mobile app.

What is Google Maps?

Google Maps is a web mapping service developed by Google. It offers satellite imagery, aerial photography, street maps, 360° panoramic views of streets (Street View), real-time traffic conditions (Google Traffic), and route planning for traveling by foot, car, bicycle (in beta), or public transportation.

How to Clear Your Google Maps History

If you’re like most people, you probably use Google Maps on a daily basis. And if you’re like most people, you probably don’t realize that Google Maps is tracking your every move. That’s right, Google Maps keeps a detailed history of everywhere you’ve been, even if you don’t have an account or are not logged in. Fortunately, there is a way to clear your Google Maps history.

On your computer

If you use Google Maps a lot, you might want to keep track of the places you’ve been and the routes you’ve traveled. You can do this by saving your maps as “Your Places.”

To view, edit, or delete Your Places:
1. On your computer, open Google Maps.
2. In the top left, click Menu Your places.
3. To edit or delete a place, click it on the map. To edit info about a place, click More Edit place. If asked, sign in to Google Maps with the same account that you used to create this map.
4. To delete all places in Your Places, at the top right, click More Delete all your places.

On your phone or tablet

Open the Google Maps app .
Tap your profile picture or initial Your Timeline .
At the top, tap More Delete all Location History or Delete Location History range. To delete all, tap Delete all Location History. To delete part of it, choose a day, month, or year and tap Delete.

Conclusion

Finally, if you want to completely clear your Google Maps history, you can do so from your “Other places” dashboard. From here, you can delete individual entries or your entire history. To do so, simply click on the trashcan icon next to the entry or entries you want to delete. Alternatively, you can click on the “Clear all history” button at the bottom of the page to delete everything.

Scroll to Top