How to Clear Your History on iPad

Have you ever wanted to clear your history on your iPad? Maybe you want to keep your searches private, or maybe you want to free up some space on your device. Whatever the reason, it’s easy to do and only takes a few seconds. Here’s how!

Checkout this video:

Open Safari

1. Open Safari. It’s the app with a blue and white compass in a circle. This will open your Safari history.
2. Tap ⋯ (iPhone) or (iPad), then tap Clear History and Website Data. It’s at the bottom of the menu. Doing so prompts a pop-up window to appear.
3. Tap Clear History and Data when prompted, then confirm by tapping Clear History and Data in the pop-up window. This will clear your Safari history, as well as your cookies, cache, and other data stored by websites on your device.

Tap the bookmarks icon

To access your browsing history in Safari, tap the bookmarks icon at the bottom of the screen. On the next screen, tap History. If you have multiple safari windows open, you’ll see a list of all of your open tabs at the top of the screen; to view your history for a specific tab, tap that tab’s name. To clear your entire browsing history, tap Clear at the bottom of the page.

Tap theHistory folder

To access your browsing history, open theHistory folder. This folder is located in the Safari section of your iPad’ssettings.

To clear your entire browsing history, tap the Clear button at the bottom of the History screen. A confirmation message will appear asking if you want to remove all items from your history. Tap Clear to confirm.

You can also clear individual items from your browsing history by tapping the Edit button, then tapping the Delete button next to the specific entry you want to remove.

Tap Clear at the bottom

When you’re finished, tap Clear at the bottom of the screen. If you accidentally clear your history, you can reopen the History panel and tap the clock icon at the top of the screen to restore your browsing history.

Select how far back in time you want to clear your history

In Safari, select theHistory tab at the bottom of the screen.

At the top of the History screen, select Clear.

A menu appears giving you different options for how much history to delete:
-The last hour
-Today
-Yesterday
-All time

Scroll to Top