How to Clear Your YouTube History

YouTube keeps a complete history of everything you’ve watched, even if you’ve cleared your watch history. Here’s how to delete your YouTube viewing history.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

Your YouTube history consists of the videos you’ve watched, searched for, or liked on YouTube. You can clear your entire watch history, search history, and viewing activity on YouTube. Deleting your viewing activity may not delete the videos you’ve watched from real-time content providers such as cable companies.

What is YouTube History?

YouTube History is a saved record of every video you’ve watched on YouTube. YouTube uses this information to recommend new videos to you, improve your search results, and make your overall YouTube experience better.

You can clear your entire YouTube history, or just remove individual videos from your history. To clear your entire history:

1. Sign in to YouTube and click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
2. Scroll down and click “History:”.
3. On the right side of the page, click “Clear all viewing history”.
4. In the pop-up box, click “OK” to confirm.

To remove an individual video from your history:

1. Sign in to YouTube and click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
2. Scroll down and click “History:”.
3. Find the video you want to remove from your history and hover over it with your mouse cursor.
4. Click the X that appears on the right side of the video thumbnail.
5. In the pop-up box, click “OK” to confirm

How to Clear Your YouTube History

Assuming you’re logged into your YouTube account, go to the top right corner of the main YouTube screen and click on your account icon. A drop-down menu will appear. Next to the “History: On” option, click the edit button. This will take you to your history page.

On Desktop

On desktop,signed in or not, you can clear your entire watch history or search history at once. Here’s how:

First, open YouTube and click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen. In the drop-down menu, hover your mouse over “History:’

Under “History Type” on the right, select “Watch History” or “Search History.”

Click on the circle next to “All time” to select it.
Click on “Clear all watch history” or “Clear all search history.”
In the pop-up box, click “CLEAR WATCH HISTORY” or “CLEAR SEARCH HISTORY” to confirm.

On Mobile

Open the YouTube app on your device.
At the top right, tap More>History.
Tap Clear all viewing history. If you want to delete only one video from your history, find that video in your history list and tap More>Remove from Watch History.
Confirm by tapping OK.

Conclusion

Assuming you want to keep your YouTube history but just want to clear the watch history:

-Open YouTube and click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
-Click “History: under “History Type” on the right.
-Click “Clear all search history.”
-A box will pop up asking if you’re sure – click “CLEAR HISTORY.”

Scroll to Top