How to Clear Your Search History on Google

Want to keep your searches within Google private? Here’s how to clear your search history on the world’s most popular search engine.

Checkout this video:

Open your Google account.

At the top right of any Google page, click your profile photo or initial. If you’re not signed in to your Google account, click Sign in. On the left, click Data & personalization. Under “Activity controls,” click Web & App Activity or YouTube History Manage activity. To the right of “Delete,” click More Delete activity by. Below “Delete by date,” choose All time. Click Delete. At the bottom, tap OK.

On the top right corner of the page, click on your profile photo.

A drop-down menu will appear with several options. The second option from the top is “History.” Click on it.

At the top of the next page, there are several tabs. The default tab is “Web & App Activity.” Under that tab, there is a blue bar that says “Pause on this device.” Click on it.

A pop-up window will appear that asks you to confirm that you want to pause your activity. Click “Pause.”

Your search history is now paused on your device!

A drop-down menu will appear. Click on “Account.”

Open the Google Chrome browser on your computer and sign in to your Google account, if necessary. Click on the three vertical dots in the upper right-hand corner of the browser window, then click on “History” in the drop-down menu. Another menu will appear. Click on “History” again.

Click on the “Clear browsing data” button in the lower left-hand corner of the window. Another window will pop up. Make sure that “Browsing history,” “Download history,” “Cookies and other site data,” and “Cached images and files” are all checked. You can uncheck the other boxes if you wish, but it is generally recommended that you clear all of your data for maximum privacy protection.

  How to Clear the History on Safari

Click on the “Clear data” button at the bottom of the pop-up window, and your search history will be cleared.

On the left side of the page, click on “Data & personalization.”

Under “activity controls,” click “Web & App Activity.” From here, you can hit the three vertical ellipses on the top right of your screen and select “pause,” which will temporarily stop your search history from being logged.

You can also hit “Manage activity” under “Web & App Activity” to see your past searches organized by date. From there, you can delete certain items or hit the box on the top left of your screen that says “Select all” followed by the trash icon to clear everything at once.

For more granular control, scroll down to “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.” Under “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data,” hit “Delete a service or your account.” From here, you can hit “Delete a service” and select “Web & App Activity” to just get rid of your search history.

Under “Activity controls,” click on “Web & App Activity.”

If you’ve decided that you want to delete your Google search history, there are a few different ways you can do it.

The first way is to go to your Activity Controls page. This page allows you to decide which types of activity are saved in your account. To get there, sign into your Google account and then click on the grid icon in the top right-hand corner. From there, click “Account.”

  How to Delete Your YouTube Search History

Under “Activity controls,” click on “Web & App Activity.” This will take you to a page where you can see all of the activity that has been saved in your account. You can choose to delete specific items or delete all of them by clicking on the trash can icon in the top right-hand corner.

You can also pause your Web & App Activity if you don’t want any of your activity to be saved going forward. Keep in mind that if you pause your activity, you won’t be able to use some features, like getting tailored recommendations based on your searches.

The other way to delete your Google search history is to do it from within your Google account settings. To get there, sign into your account and then click on the grid icon in the top right-hand corner. From there, click “Account.”

Click on “Data & Personalization,” and then scroll down to “Download, delete or make a plan for your data.” Under “Download, delete or make a plan for your data,” click on “Delete a service or your account.”

Click on “Delete a Google service,” and then click “Next.” Choose “Search” from the list of services, and then click “Next.” Finally, click on “Delete Service.”

On the right side of the page, click on the three vertical dots.

On the right side of the page, click on the three vertical dots. Then, click on “History.” A new page will pop up and at the top of this page, there will be a search bar. Above the search bar, there will be different options such as “Today,” “Yesterday,” “Last 7 days,” etc. You can select one of these options or you can type a specific date range into the search bar. After you have selected your date range, hit enter. Your searched items will populate below. To the right of each entry, there will be a box that you can check off. You can check off multiple items at once or you can clear your entire history by checking off the box to the left of “Search History.” Then, click on the trash can icon that appears. A confirmation window will pop-up asking if you want to delete your selected items. Click “OK.”

  Who Writes History

A drop-down menu will appear. Click on “Delete activity by.”

Go to your Google account. On the left navigation panel, click Data & personalization. On the Activity and timeline panel, click My Activity. View your activity: Browse through your activity, organized by day and time. At the top right of each item, click More Delete activity by.A drop-down menu will appear. Click on “Delete activity by.”

Under “Delete by date,” click on “All time.”

Click on the three lines next to your profile picture.
Click “History.”
Click “Clear browsing data.”
At the top, choose “All time.”
Click “Clear data.”

A pop-up will appear. Click on “Delete.”

A pop-up will appear. Click on “Delete.” You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete your search history. Click on “Okay.” Your search history has now been deleted.

Scroll to Top