How to Delete Your Google Maps History

Did you know that Google Maps keeps track of everywhere you go? If you’re not comfortable with that, here’s how to delete your Google Maps history.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

Learn how to delete your Google Maps history on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Android device.

If you turn on Location History, Google will periodically save your location data to your Google Account. You can view and manage your Location History information through Google Maps Timeline, which is available to both mobile and desktop users.

In some cases, you may want to delete all of your Location History data, or only a specific portion of it. Read on for instructions on how to do this for both iOS and Android devices.

What is Google Maps History?

Google Maps History is a feature that allows you to view and manage your past locations that you have searched for or navigated to. You can also use it to find recommended restaurants and businesses based on your search history. To turn on Location History for your account, follow these steps:

-Go to your Google Account.
-Click Data & personalization.
-Click Web & App Activity.
-Turn Web & App Activity on or off.
-Click Save.

If you turn on Location History, Google will periodically save your location data to Your Timeline, even if you’ve turned off Map Tracking. To delete these location markers, follow these steps:

-Open Google Maps and make sure you’re signed in.
-Tap the three lines in the upper left corner of the screen.
-Tap Your places.
-Tap the three dots next to a place name and tap Delete place from history OK.

How to Delete Your Google Maps History

deleting your Google Maps history is important for privacy reasons. If you don’t want people to know where you’ve been, or if you’re worried about Google collecting data on you, then you should delete your history. Here’s how to do it.

Deleting Your Location History

If you want to delete your entire Google Maps history all at once, the process is actually very simple. You can do it directly from the Google Maps app on your phone, or on the web from your desktop. Here’s how to do it:

-Open the Google Maps app on your phone
-Tap the three lines in the top left corner
-Tap “Your timeline”
-Tap the three dots in the top right corner
-Tap “Delete all Location History”
-Tap “Delete Location History”

And that’s it! Your entire Google Maps history will now be wiped clean. If you ever want to check back in and see where you’ve been, you can always re-enable location history tracking in the same menu.

Deleting Your Search History

You can delete single activity items by opening them and tapping More Delete. To delete all items from your history:

On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app .
Tap Menu Settings.
Tap on the map History: Delete all Location History or Delete Location History range.To delete a specific item, under “Item details,” tap More Delete.

Deleting Your Directions History

To delete your recent Google Maps history:

1.On your computer, open Google Maps and sign in.
2.Click the Menu icon and choose “Your timeline” or “History: Today.” If you don’t see a Menu icon, click the three vertical dots at the top left of the screen.
3.At the top right of the page, click More Delete all history for today or Delete all Direction history.

To delete all of your Google Maps history:

1.On your computer, open Google Maps and sign in.
2.Click the Menu icon and choose “Your timeline” or “History: Today.” If you don’t see a Menu icon, click the three vertical dots at the top left of the screen.
3.At the top right of the page, click More Delete all history from today deleting certain items from your Google Maps history:

1.On your computer, open Google Maps and sign in.
2.Click the Menu icon and choose “Your timeline” or “History: Today.” If you don’t see a Menu icon, click More .
3Find the item you want to delete and click More Delete item from today or Delete direction

Conclusion

Overall, deleting your Google Maps history is a pretty simple process. Just open up the app and go to the “hamburger” menu in the top-left corner. From there, select “Your timeline” and then hit the trash can icon in the top-right corner. You can also delete individual entries by tapping on them and then hitting the trash can icon.

Scroll to Top