How to Delete Your Google Search History

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your Google search history so that your past queries and browsing results are wiped away.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

Most people are unaware that Google keeps a record of everything that you search for on the internet. This information is stored in your “Web & App Activity” and it can be accessed by anyone who has access to your account. If you are concerned about your privacy, it is important to know how to delete your Google search history.

What is Google Search History?

Your Google search history is a log of all the things you have searched for on the internet using Google. This includes both things you have searched for on your computer, as well as things you have searched for using Google apps on your phone or tablet. If you are signed into your Google account, then your search history is saved and can be viewed by going to myactivity.google.com.

You might want to delete your Google search history for a number of reasons. Maybe you are concerned about privacy, or maybe you just want to clean up your search history so that it is more accurate. Deleting your search history is a relatively simple process that only takes a few minutes.

How to Delete Your Google Search History

You can delete single search history results from the autocomplete list on the Google search page. If you need to clear out a lot or all of your search history, you can use the Google My Activity page.

To delete all records of your past searches with one fell swoop, go to Google’s My Activity page, click on the three vertical dots on the top right of the main pane, and select Delete activity by in the drop-down menu.

You’ll be given two options: “All time” and “Last hour.” If you opt for “All time,” every last scrap of your Google search history will be gone from My Activity indefinitely. But if you only want to get rid of more recent searches—say, from the past day or week—you can limit the deletion to a specific time period.

Deleting items from your Google search history won’t remove them from another person’s activity log if they’ve searched for something using your account—but it will prevent those items from showing up in your autocomplete suggestions in the future.

How to Pause Your Google Search History

If you want to prevent your searches from being stored in your Google account, you can prevent Google from saving your search activity on all devices. This will also pause any other activity being saved to your account, including Web & App Activity and location history. Note that pausing your Web & App Activity may impact features like Continued Conversations in Gmail, sign-in autocompletion, and Voice & Audio Activity for speech recognition.

To turn off saving searches to your account:
-Open My Activity. You might need to sign in first.
-On the left, click More Delete activity by.
-Below “All time,” select the Down arrow All time. To delete some of your activity, choose a time range under “Delete by date.” To delete all of it, select All time.
-On the right, above the graph, click Delete .

Conclusion

Now that you know how to delete your Google search history, you can do so with confidence, knowing that your personal information is safe. If you have any other questions about how to keep your information private, or if you want to learn more about Google’s search history and what it means for your privacy, be sure to check out our other articles on the topic.

Scroll to Top