How to Delete History on Chrome

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to clear your browsing history in Google Chrome.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

When you browse the web, your Chrome browser saves a record of your activity. This includes the websites you visit, your search queries, and other information. You can delete this history to keep your browsing private, or to free up some space on your device.

Here’s how to delete Chrome history:

1. Open Chrome and click on the three dots in the top-right corner.
2. hover over “History” and click “History” from the drop-down menu.
3. On the left side of the screen, select “Clear browsing data.”
4. Choose how far back you want to clear your history by selecting a time range from the “Time range” drop-down menu.
5. Select the types of data you want to delete by checking the boxes next to “Browsing history,” “Download history,” “Cookies and other site data,” and/or “Cached images and files.”
6. Click “Clear data.”

Step One: Open the Chrome Browser

Opening the Chrome browser is the first step indelete your browsing history. You can do this by double-clicking on the Chrome icon or selecting it from your applications list.

Step Two: Select More Tools
Next, you need to select “More Tools” from the browser’s main menu. This will open a drop-down menu with additional options.

Step Three: Select Clear Browsing Data
From the “More Tools” drop-down menu, select “Clear Browsing Data”. This will open a new window with several options for what types of data you want to clear.

Step Four: Choose What to Clear
The next step is to choose what type of data you want to clear. You can clear your entire browsing history, or select specific types of data such as cookies, cached images, and passwords.

Step Five: Select Time Range
Finally, you need to select a time range for which you want to clear data. Options include “All time”, “Last hour”, and “Last 24 hours”. Once you’ve made your selection, click on the “Clear data” button.

Step Two: In the Top Right Corner of the Browser, Click on the More Icon

The More icon is three vertical dots located in the top right corner of the browser. Once you click on it, a drop-down menu will appear. In that menu, select “History.”

Step Three: Hover Over More Tools

If you want to get rid of your browsing history altogether, click the menu button in the top-right corner of the window, hover over “More tools,” and select “Clear browsing data…” from the resulting drop-down menu.

Step Four: Click on Clear Browsing Data

Chrome will now clear your browsing data. This may take a few moments, depending on how much data you have. When it’s finished, you’ll see a message that says, “Your browsing data has been cleared.”

Step Five: Choose the Timeframe for Which You Want to Delete History

Click on the “Time range” drop-down menu. You’ll have several options for how much history you want to delete. The further back you go in time, the more space you’ll free up on your computer.

Step Six: Check the Box Next to “Browsing History”

Click on the three dots in the top right corner of your Chrome browser, hover over “More tools,” and select “Clear browsing data.” A new tab will open. At the top, select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, select “All time.” Check the box next to “Browsing history.” If you want to delete other types of browsing data, like cookies and site data, check the boxes next to those options. When you’re ready to clear your data, click “Clear data.”

Step Seven: Click on Clear Data

Now that you have found the Clear Browsing Data option, it is time to select what you want to clear. As aforementioned, you can clear your entire browsing history, or you can be more specific and only clear certain types of data. If you want to clear everything, simply check the box next to “Browsing history.” If you would like to only clear one type of data, such as your cache, cookies, or passwords, check only the box next to that type of data. Once you have made your selection, click on the “Clear data” button.

Scroll to Top