How to Delete Your YouTube History

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your YouTube history, including both your search and watch history.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

When you sign into YouTube, you’re automatically signed into your YouTube account. This means that your account will keep a history of everything you’ve watched, every video you’ve liked or disliked, every comment you’ve made, and every channel you’ve subscribed to. If you don’t want your YouTube account to keep this history, there is a way to delete it.

Fortunately, YouTube gives users the option to delete their entire watch history, or to delete individual items from their watch history. In this article, we’ll show you how to do both.

Deleting your watch history

You may want to delete your YouTube watch history for a number of reasons. Maybe you watched a video you don’t want anyone to know about, or maybe you just want to start fresh with a clean slate. Whatever the reason, here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your YouTube watch history.

Pausing your watch history

You can pause your watch history, which will prevent videos from being added to your watch history. Note that when you pause your watch history, it doesn’t affect:
– Videos you search for
– Videos you click on in the “Up next” list on the right of some YouTube videos
– Live streams that you watch
To pause your watch history:
1.Go to youtube.com and sign in with your Google Account.
2.Click on Menu  in the top left corner of the main screen.
3.Click History  .
4.Next to “History Type,” click the Down arrow  .
5.Click Pause Watch History or Pause Search History.

Deleting all or part of your watch history

You can delete all or part of your watch history. If you delete all your watch history, that action can’t be undone.

To delete all your watch history:

1.Go to YouTube and sign in.
2.Click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
3.Under “History:”, select Delete all history.
4.A box will pop up asking you to confirm that you want to delete your entire watch history. To continue, click OK.

Deleting your search history

YouTube knows what you’ve been watching and they’re keeping track. If you want to clear your viewing history, here’s how to do it. Open YouTube and sign in. Click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen. In the drop-down menu, select “History:. On the History page, there are two options: “Watch History” and “Search History”.

Pausing your search history

Topause your search history:

On the left, click Pause .
Note: If you pause your search history, you won’t be able to log in or personalize YouTube. Also, if you turn on Incognito mode after pausing your search history, your activity might still be saved by your browser. To prevent this, please make sure to close all Incognito tabs after pausing your search history.

Deleting all or part of your search history

To delete all or part of your YouTube search history:

-Go to youtube.com and sign in.
-Click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
-Hover over “History: and click “History type” from the drop-down menu that appears.
-Click “Search history.”
-To delete your entire search history, click on the trash can icon next to “DAILY UPDATES.”
-To delete part of your search history, open the menu next to a search item and select Delete.

Conclusion

Deleting your YouTube history is a simple process that only takes a few minutes. You can do it from your computer or your mobile device, and it will permanently remove all of your search and watch history from your account. If you ever want to start fresh with YouTube, deleting your history is the best way to do it.

Scroll to Top