How to Delete Your Google Search History

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your Google search history on desktop and mobile.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

If you don’t want a record of what you’ve been searching for on Google, you can delete your history. You can delete some or all of your past searches from your Google Account. If you delete items from My Activity on one device, they might still appear on any devices that are signed in with the same Google Account.

You can choose to delete certain types of activity, including:
-Web & App Activity
-YouTube History
-Device Information
-Voice & Audio Activity
-Purchase History

What is Google Search History?

Google Search History is the log of all the things you have searched for on Google. If you are signed in to your Google account, then most of your searches will be logged in your account. This means that if you ever want to check what you have searched for in the past, you can simply go to your Google account and look at your history. Additionally, if you are signed in to Chrome with your Google account, then your Chrome browsing history will also be saved to your Google account.

How to Delete Your Google Search History

Want to delete your Google search history? Maybe you don’t want others to know what you’ve been searching for. Or maybe you just want to clean up your search history for privacy reasons. Whatever the reason, here’s a step-by-step guide on how to do it.

Deleting Your Entire Google Search History

From the drop-down menu, select how far back in time you want your history deleted. All visits before that time will be removed from your Google Account. Keep in mind that deleting your search history won’t delete information associated with activity, like:

-The sites you visit
-Your activity on those sites
-Information you search for on other sites
To delete this type of activity, visit My Activity.

Deleting Specific Items from Your Google Search History

If you’re signed in to your Google account, and you want to delete a single item from your search history, here’s how:

After you search on Google, the searches you do on that device are stored in your Web & App Activity. You can control this setting for each device you use where you’re signed in to your Google Account.

On your computer, open your web browser.
Go to www.google.com/activity.
On the left, click Searches.
You might need to click More first. Under “Service,” click Search. If this Service is not available, skip to step 5 .
Below the search bar, click More Delete searches & other activity.
Choose what time period you want to delete searches for, then click Delete .

How to Pause Your Google Search History

To pause your Google search history, follow these steps:

1. Open your Web browser and go to your Google account page.
2. Click on the products icon in the upper right corner of the page.
3. Select “Account History” from the drop-down menu.
4. Click on the “Pause” button next to “Web & App Activity.”
5. A pop-up window will appear asking you to confirm that you want to pause your activity. Click “OK.”
6. Your Google search history will now be paused and no new information will be saved going forward.

Conclusion

Now that you know how to delete your Google search history, you can start fresh with your searches. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment below.

Scroll to Top