How to Delete Your Search History

Want to delete your search history? Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to clear your search history on major browsers.

Checkout this video:

Deleting Your Entire Search History

You may want to delete your search history for a number of reasons. Maybe you’re trying to protect your privacy, or maybe you’re just trying to free up some space on your hard drive. Whatever the reason, it’s easy to do. In most browsers, you can delete your entire search history in a few simple steps.

Go to your Google Account

At the top right of your screen, click your profile picture or avatar. From the drop-down menu, select “Google Account.”

This will take you to your Google Account overview page. On this page, you’ll see several different sections with information about your account. Above these sections is a search bar — next to it, there are a few options. The second option from the left is “Data & personalization.” Click on it.

On the next page, scroll down until you see the “Activity controls” section. This is where you can manage what types of activity are saved in your account. To the right of “Web & App Activity,” click “Manage Activity.”

A new window will pop up with your Web & App Activity dashboard. At the top of this dashboard is a bar with several options — make sure the first option selected is “All time.” Below that, you’ll see your entire search history displayed by date. To the right of each search term is a vertical three-dot icon; click on it and select “Delete from history.”

Repeat this process for each item in your search history that you want to delete.

Select Data & personalization from the drop-down menu

In the top-right corner of any page, select your profile photo or initials, then select Settings. Under “Activity controls,” select Manage your data & personalization. Under “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data,” select Delete a service or your account.

Under “Delete a service or your account,” select Delete a service. next to “Search,” select Manage activity. At the top right of the page, select More Delete activity by. Below “Delete by date,” choose All time. At the top right, select Delete.

Scroll down to the “Activity controls” section and select Web & App Activity

Deleting your entire search history is a two-step process. First, you need to delete all of your activity from Google’s servers, and then you need to delete the Chrome history on your computer.

To delete your activity from Google’s servers, go to myaccount.google.com and sign in. Then, scroll down to the “Activity controls” section and select Web & App Activity. On the next page, click the “Delete activity by” drop-down menu and select “All time.” Then, click the Delete button at the top of the page.

To delete your Chrome history, open Chrome and click the three dots in the top-right corner of the browser. From the drop-down menu, select History > History. On the next page, click “Clear browsing data.” Select “All time” from the drop-down menu and make sure that only “Browsing history” is checked. Then, click Clear data at the bottom of the page.

Toggle Web & App Activity off

Web & App Activity is turned on by default for signed-in users. When this setting is on, your searches and activity from other Google services are saved in your Google Account, so you may get more personalized experiences, like faster searches and more helpful app and content recommendations.

To turn this setting off or on:

-Open your Google Account. You might need to sign in.
-Click Data & personalization.
-Scroll to “Activity controls.”
-Under “Web & App Activity,” toggle Web & App Activity on or off.

If you turn off Web & App Activity, your activity from other Google services will still be saved in your account. To delete all activity from your account, learn how to clear your entire search history.

Confirm by selecting Turn off

You can delete past searches, browsing history, and other activity from your Google Account. You’re in control of what’s stored in My Activity, and you can stop saving most activity at any time.

When you delete items from My Activity, they’re permanently deleted from your account. However, some activity may remain in your Google activity logs until you delete it manually.

To manage the types of data that are saved in your account:
Open My Activity. You might need to sign in to your Google Account.
At the top right of the page, select More Delete activity by.
Below “Delete by date,” select the Down arrow All time.
At the top right of the page, select Delete Delete.

Deleting Specific Items from Your Search History

If there’s a particular search you want to get rid of, open your Web browser and type in the URL of the search engine you used. When the search results come up, look for the “Tools” menu. In the menu, there should be an option that allows you to clear your search history. Click on that and follow the instructions.

Go to your Google Account

Go to your Google Account. You might need to sign in.
On the left navigation panel, click Data & personalization.
On the Activity and timeline panel, click My Activity.
View by: Topics is selected by default. To change how your activity is displayed: At the top right of the page, select More Delete activity by. Below “Delete Activity,” select All time. To delete only specific items, choose Another time range under “Delete Activity.” To delete all items before a specific date, choose Delete by date next to “Delete Activity.” next to “All time.” Learn more about choosing a date range. Select Delete. A warning will appear asking if you’re sure you want to delete your entire history; this cannot be undone. Click OK to proceed; your history will now be deleted!

Select Data & personalization from the drop-down menu

Click the three dots in the upper-right corner of your screen and select Data & personalization from the drop-down menu.

On the next screen, scroll down to “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.” This is where you’ll find all of the tools you need to manage your data.

To delete your entire search history, click the first option: “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data.”

You’ll be taken to a new screen with three options. The middle option is “Delete a service or your account.” Click this.

You’ll be taken to yet another screen with two options. The top option is “Delete a Google service.” Click this.

Scoll down to “Search” and click the three dots next to it. Then select “Remove results.” You can also turn off search history activity altogether by selecting “Pause search history.”

Scroll down to the “Activity controls” section and select Web & App Activity

If you want to delete all items from your search history at once, click the Clear activity link at the top of the page. If you only want to delete certain items, keep reading.

At the top of your search history page, use the Search bar and the options above it to find and select the items you want to delete
Click Remove items.

On the Web & App Activity page, select the three vertical dots next to the search you want to delete

On the Web & App Activity page, select the three vertical dots next to the search you want to delete. When the drop-down menu appears, select “Remove.” A small pop-up will appear asking if you’re sure you want to delete this item from your Web & App Activity. Select “OK.”

Select Delete from the drop-down menu

If you’re signed in to your Microsoft account, your search history is associated with your account. That means you can use it on any device where you’re logged in with that account. If you don’t want your search history to be stored in your account, sign out before you start searching.

To delete items from your search history:

1. Go to and sign in, if necessary.
2. Under SearchHistory, select More.
3. Select the check box next to each item you want to delete from your search history, and then select Delete. A message appears confirming that the items were deleted from your search history.

Scroll to Top