How to Delete Your YouTube History

In this post, we’ll show you how to clear your YouTube search and watch history in a few simple steps.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

You’ve been watching a lot of videos on YouTube lately and your watch history is starting to get a little bit out of control. Maybe you’ve been watching a lot of videos on a certain topic that you don’t want anyone else to know about. Or maybe you just want to clear out your history to start fresh. Whatever the reason, deleting your YouTube history is a pretty simple process. Here’s how to do it.

Deleting Your Watch History

YouTube’s watch history makes it easy to accidentally stumble upon a video you’ve watched in the past, which can be frustrating if you’re trying to avoid spoilers for a show or don’t want others to know what you’ve been watching. Luckily, it’s easy to delete your watch history. Here’s how.

Pausing your watch history

If you pause your watch history, YouTube will temporarily stop saving videos that you watch. You can find this setting in the “History Type” section of your YouTube History page. Keep in mind that pausing your watch history does not delete your watch history . If you restart your watch history, YouTube will resume adding new videos to your watch history.
You can learn more about pausing other types of activity data here.

Deleting all items from your watch history

You can delete all items from your watch history at once. This will also pause your watch history.
-On your computer, go to YouTube and sign in.
-On the left, click Watch history .
-At the top right, click More Delete all watch history.
A box will open to ask you to confirm that you want to delete all watched videos from your account.
-Click OK.

Deleting all items from your watch history also pauses your watch history. If you don’t want to pause your watch history, but want to delete some items:

Deleting individual items from your watch history

To delete a single item from your watch history:

1. Open YouTube and sign in.
2. Click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
3. Select “History: under “Watch history.”
4. Find the item you want to delete and click the X next to it.
5. Click “OK.”

Deleting Your Search History

YouTube saves your search history so that it can provide you with better content recommendations. If you don’t want YouTube to save your search history, you can delete it. You can also pause your search history, which will prevent YouTube from saving your searches from that point forward. Here’s how to do both.

Pausing your search history

If you don’t want your searches or watched videos from any device to show up in your search history for a while, you can pause your history. Note that this will only pausesearch history; if you watch a video while search history is paused, that video will still appear in your watch history. To pause your search history:

-Go to YouTube and sign in.
-Click on the three lines in the top left corner of the main screen.
-Under “History:”, select Pause search history or Pause watch history.

Deleting all items from your search history

If you’re signed in, you can delete your search history from your account.
On your computer, open YouTube. In the top right, click More .
Click History.
At the top right of the page, click More .
Click Remove all search history.

Deleting individual items from your search history

To delete a single item from your search history:

1.Go to your search history.
2.Find the item you want to delete.
3.Click More Delete .

You can also delete your entire search history by going to Search Settings.

Conclusion

Now that you know how to delete your YouTube history, you can start fresh with a clean slate. Remember to turn on Incognito mode when you don’t want your activity saved, and to check and delete your search history periodically.

Scroll to Top